skip navigation

Blizzard award winners announced

04/08/2015, 7:45am CDT
By Blizzard Staff

The "Joe Loftus" Top Hitter, Top Pitcher, MVP and "Jake Kuschke" Leadership Award awarded

Blizzard 2014-2015 Award Winners

Top Pitcher "Joe Loftus" Top Hitter MVP "Jake Kuschke" Leadership
12u Joey Hurth Bennett McCollow Joe Longo Jackson Cooke
13u William Scheil Max Carlson Jeremy Klick Anthony LaValle
14u Aidan Maldonado Will Roguske Aidan Maldonado Ethan Soeffker
15u Black Marcus Bouley Owen Granger Owen Granger Owen Granger
15u Blue Michael Jensen Noah Winkelman Tommy Springer Ty Okada
16u Red TJ Wagner Zach Loven Cam Kline Connor Bachman
16u Black Cole Albers Tyler Stilp Zach Smith Ethan Mocchi
16u Blue Brock Anderson Ben Livorsi Sam Carlson Nick Novak
18u Red Ryan Fox Eric Pearson Eric Pearson Tanner Winslow
18u Black Lawson Zenner Trevor Moses Trevor Moses Tyler Fredlund
18u Blue Ben Suits Ben Suits Ben Suits Tommy Seaberg

Coach of the Year: Jeff Huth - 14u Blue

Blizzard End Of Year and Award Ceremony

At year’s end, the Blizzard program has an awards ceremony to recognize the top players from each team.  Plaques are awarded with each player voting for their teammates in four categories: Most Valuable Player, "Joe Loftus" Top Hitter Award, Top Pitcher Award and the “Jake Kuschke” Leadership Award.  The staff also awards one coach with the "Montana" Coach of the Year Award.

"Joe Loftus" Top Hitter Award

The "Joe Loftus" Top Hitter Award was named for one of the best hitters to come through MBA and the Blizzard program - Joe Loftus.  Joe was a top prep athlete in Minnesota, attending Holy Angels Academy HS, where he set many of their offensive record - most notably hitting more homeruns in high school than Joe Mauer.  Loftus was drafted by the Minnesota Twins out of high school, but decided to attend Vanderbilt University where he helped his team reach the College World Series in 2011.  Loftus was drafted and signed by the Arizona Diamondbacks.

"Montana" Coach of the Year Award

Steve Daugherty is regarded as one of the top coaches of the program and a player favorite.  As one of the first coaches in the Blizzard program, "Montana" has gone over the top in his efforts in making the Blizzard program one of the best in the country.  In 2009, the first Manager of the Year Award went to Steve and was named after a program favorite - Steve "Montana" Daugherty.

“Jake Kuschke” Leadership Award

Jake Kuschke, a 2012 graduate, played in the Blizzard program for four years and demonstrated all the characteristics of being a leader.  This award not only demonstrates achievements on the field, but more importantly, the leadership off the field.  The “Jake Kuschke” Leadership Award is awarded to the player who demonstrates the ability to being a great teammate, a mentor to younger players, a great student, hard worker and is always there for those who need to be 'picked up'.

Blizzard 16u Blue Award Winners: Sam Carlson, Ben Livorsi (Adam Barta) Nic Novak, Brock Anderson

Tag(s): Test