skip navigation

"Logan Shore" Top Pitcher & "Blue gLove" Award Recipients Announced

04/19/2019, 4:45pm CDT
By Adam Barta, Minnesota Blizzard

"Johnny Price" MVP Awards, "Joe Loftus" Hitter Awards, "Jake Kuschke" Leadership Awards and "Montana" Coach of they Year coming next week

Blizzard End of Year Awards Banquet and Senior Recognition

At year’s end, the Blizzard program has an awards ceremony to recognize the top players from each team.  Plaques are awarded with each player voting for their teammates in five categories: "Johnny Price" Most Valuable Player Award, "Joe Loftus" Top Hitter Award, "Logan Shore" Top Pitcher Award, "Blue gLove" Top Defensive Player Award, and the “Jake Kuschke” Leadership Award.  The staff also awards one coach with the "Montana" Coach of the Year Award.
This week, we are releasing the "Logan Shore" Top Pitcher of the Year and "Blue gLove" Defensive Player of the Year Award for ages 11u-18u for the Blizzard Elite Season.
You can also find a link to all past award winners here
"Logan Shore" Top Pitcher Award
Right-handed pitcher Logan Shore was one of Minnesota Blizzard’s premier pitchers from 2006-2013 serving as the ace on almost every team he played on.  Leading his team to six national tournament championships and four top-four finishes in his tenure, Shore will be known as one of the fiercest competitors in the Blizzard program’s history.
Shore was named to the Chicago White Sox Area Code team (2012) and was awarded the Star Tribune’s Player of the Year (2012), Minnesota Gatorade Player of the Year (2013), Minutemen Mr. Baseball Award (2013), Class AAA Minnesota Players of the Year (2013) and earned the Blizzard’s Top Pitcher Award in 2009 and 2012 while earning MVP honors in 2010-2012.  In one of the Blizzard’s biggest program wins, Shore threw a one-hit, complete game shutout, beating the nationally-ranked Cincinnati Reds Scout team 1-0 striking out 13 in the Perfect Game Kernels Championships. 
In 2013, Shore was drafted in the 29th round by the Minnesota Twins but decided to attend the University of Florida.  Shore led the Gators to the College World Series in 2015 winning two games before finishing third.  In 2014, Shore had a stellar freshman year where he earned All-American honors and was named SEC Freshman of the Year.
Logan’s impact on the Blizzard program, however, outweighs his accomplishments on the mound by being everything the Blizzard Big 5 stands for - outstanding leadership, loyalty, humility, hardworking and phenomenal teammate.
2018-2019 "Logan Shore Top Pitcher Award Recipients
11u Peter Adie
13u Blue Teddy Juaire
13u Black Calvin Schmelzle
14u Weston Russell
15u Blue Logan Winkelman
15u Black Parker Gilchrist
16u Blue Simon Gregerson
16u Black Alex Grygar
18u Blue Will Frisch / Ben Pederson
18u Black Kobe Olson
18u Red Duke Coborn 
“Blue gLove” Top Defensive Player of the Year
The Blue gLove award is named after our top defensive player each season.  Whether it be the starting shortstop, a versatile utility player or an individual who seems to make an impact with his glove every game, these defensive vacuums have shown their ability to consistently impact the outcome of many games.
2018-2019 "Blue gLove" Top Defensive Players 2018-2019 
11u Andrew Brandt
13u Blue Carson Schwartz
13u Black Luke Skinner
14u Matt Maulik
15u Blue Isaac Buehler
15u Black Sam Schneider
16u Blue Bennett McCollow
16u Black Ben Vujovich
18u Blue Dalton McNamara
18u Black Maddux Baggs
18u Red Andrew Mathies

Tag(s): Test  Blizzard Scout Rosters